A morning in Ilfracombe

The TV’s on the children screech
The words do not have sense
The coffees cheap with chocolate
To ease my mind less bent

Arise early, oh why today
I look to count my pence
Its thirty, forty, fifty p
A crinkled fiver less

We walk to town, the sea, the streets
To see big Verity
The dog he barks at other dogs
And tries to hump my knee

The cold it bites I think the dog
Is making quite a mess
I’ve thirty, forty, fifty p
A crinkled fiver less

The bus ride home I long to be
At home, I’ll go to bed
Before a night of drinking for
A birthday for a friend

I’ll sit and wait and read a book
The country view is blessed
With thirty, forty, fifty p
A crinkled fiver less

Leave a Reply

