Prosecco…

The sky and everything beneath it was pitch black, except for the stars.

Offering millions of tiny distant glimmers of hope, or so it would seem.

This was a place where all would be blind to their surroundings.

The dim yet full moon was smothered in thick black clouds.

I was looking all around me in strickened panic.

Normally you would expect to hear the howling of wolves but even they must have been frightened.

The distant roar of the thunder was echoing through the meadows and each time the sound erupted it became a little bit louder.

As too my heart beat became faster and harder and faster and harder.

The tiny stars became coated in the dark clouds so were barely even visible now.

A drop of sweat came down from my forehead, and another.

Then the lightening came. Bright forks lit up the skies like a calling from god.

I took a step forwards along the path to what could be the end of my destiny and the rain began to fall heavily upon me from above.

It seemed I was deep in the shit of the heavens when suddenly the forceful winds came in to join in these harsh dances of mother earth.

And then the biting cold came too and it seemed it could freeze the center of the sun.

And the rains became hail.

And the full force of the winds spewed the icy hail into my face; cold, stinging and sore.

My body was shivering and my teeth where chattering. I continued to walk towards my uncertain fate

My mind in heightened awareness of an already vivid scene, I felt trapped outside like something was keeping me here.

I was dreaming of home and sunshine and days at the beach drinking prosecco with strawberries in the glass underneath a clear blue sky; the sand between my toes…

But I had to stay focused. I continued again to walk on, the muscles in my calf’s straining, my clothes wet and the lightening coming closer still.

After the sky was once again illuminated by lightening I could hear the loud crack and thud of a tree falling not all that far away from me.

The thunder roared even louder than before and I thought my heart would jump right out of my chest and onto the floor.

I fell to my knees and screamed at the sky and prayed for god to save me from this treacherous disaster.

Another fork of lightening came and another crack. A tree was falling above me from beside the path.

I was out cold…

And then…

I awakened, I slowly opened my eyes but all was a blur, I screamed with all my might.

A blurred woman in blue came and told me “everything will be ok”

I was in a hospital. I layed back and tried to overcome the aftermath of what had happened.

I tried to relax and looked out the window.

There was a storm outside…

Leave a Reply

